24th Annual Music Row Awards Winners

24th Annual Music Row Awards Winners

Written by

Phil Barton and Johnny Bulford perform at the 24th Annual Music Row Awards

This evening, June 20, the 24th Annual Music Row Awards were handed out at the BMI headquarters in Nashville, TN. The editorial team of MusicRow, Nashville’s foremost industry publication, had chosen the nominees in four main categories and eight honors for the Top 10 Albums All-star Musician Awards. The magazine’s readers decided today’s winners.

Huge congratulations to Phil Barton who, together with Johnny Bulford, picked up the Breakthrough Songwriter Award for composing Lee Brice‘s #1 hit ‘A Woman Like You’ with Jon Stone. Eli Young Band was deservedly crowned Breakthrough Artist after a truly spectacular year for the Texas foursome. Matraca Berg and Deana Carter were honored with the Song of the Year Award for the exquisitely beautiful ‘You and Tequila,’ and star producer Frank Liddell was awarded the Producer of the Year Award for his work with Miranda Lambert, Eli Young Band, David Nail, Kellie Pickler and many more.

Really wonderful about the Music Row Awards is the acknowledgement of the musicians who helped make the Top 10 country music albums sound the way they do. Based on a credit system, the most successful musician were honored with awards.

24th Annual MusicRow Awards winners (in bold):

Breakthrough Artist
[To honor an artist who achieved significant career progress for the first time.]
– Brantley Gilbert (Valory Music Co.)
– Eli Young Band (Republic Nashville)
– Kip Moore (MCA Nashville)
– Scotty McCreery (Mercury)
– Thompson Square (Stoney Creek)

Song of the Year
[To honor writers and publishers on the craft of songwriting, not necessarily chart position.]
– ‘God Gave Me You’ – Blake Shelton, Warner Music Nashville; written by Dave Barnes
– ‘Home’ – Dierks Bentley, Capitol Records Nashville; written by Brett Beavers, Dierks Bentley, and Dan Wilson.
– ‘Mean’ – Taylor Swift, Big Machine; written by Taylor Swift
– ‘Springsteen’ – Eric Church, EMI Nashville; written by Eric Church, Jeff Hyde and Ryan Tyndell
– ‘You and Tequila’ – Kenny Chesney, BNA, featuring Grace Potter; written by Matraca Berg and Deana Carter

Breakthrough Songwriter
[To honor a Nashville songwriter who for the first time wrote or co-wrote a Top 10 song.]
– Johnny Bulford and Phil Barton ‘A Woman Like You,’ recorded by Lee Brice
– Kip Moore and Dan Couch ‘Somethin’ ‘Bout A Truck,’ recorded by Kip Moore
– Chris DeStefano ‘Good Girl,’ recorded by Carrie Underwood
– Catt Gravitt ‘Alone With You,’ recorded by Jake Owen
– Preston Brust, Chris Lucas, and Jaren Johnston ‘You Gonna Fly,’ recorded by Keith Urban
– David Nail ‘Let It Rain,’ recorded by David Nail
– Eric Paslay and Terry Sawchuk ‘Barefoot Blue Jean Night,’ recorded by Jake Owen
– Ryan Tyndell ‘Springsteen,’ recorded by Eric Church

Producer of the Year
[To honor a producer’s work on albums active during the awards time period. Can include, but not limited to, single chart performance and album sales.]
– Mark Bright (Carrie Underwood, Scotty McCreery, Luke Bryan)
– Scott Hendricks (Blake Shelton, Jana Kramer)
– Michael Knox (Jason Aldean, Montgomery Gentry)
– Frank Liddell (Miranda Lambert, David Nail, Eli Young Band, Pistol Annies, Kellie Pickler)
– Jay Joyce (Eric Church, Thomas Rhett, Randy Montana, Emmylou Harris)

Top 10 Albums All-star Musician Awards:

Bass: Jimmie Lee Sloas
Drums: Shannon Forrest
Steel: Paul Franklin
Fiddle: Aubrey Haynie and Larry Franklin
Guitar: Ilya Toshinsky
Keyboards: Charles Judge
Engineer: Justin Niebank
Vocals: Perry Coleman


Comments are closed.